Skip to main content

Points system for fabric inspection

Points system for fabric inspection

DSPAT Fabric inspection
Fabric inspection

Fabric inspection system

Four points system

The four-point system is commonly established to inspect the fabric globally.

Inspection is done as per the ASTM D 5430-04 standards. 

This system is approved by the American Society for Quality Control (ASQC) and the Textile and needles trades division (AAMA) system.

The 4-Point System assigns 1, 2, 3, and 4 penalty points according to the size and significance of the defect. No more than 4 penalty points can be assigned for any single defect. The defect can be in either length or width direction, and the system remains the same. Only major defects are considered. there are no penalty points are assigned for minor defects as per standards.

For this inspection test, illumination intensity in the inspection room must be minimum at 1075 lux level.

While flurosant lamp is used for this inspection system.

Length defect in the fabric in inch

Penalty points

< 3 or 3


>3 or < 6, 9


>6 or <9, 9




Holes and openings in inch

Penalty points

1 inch or less than that


Over 1 inch


In this system, no width limitations.

Penalty points are considered per 1002-yard area.

Penalty points = Total points score in the roll * 3600 / fabric width in inches * Total yard inspected.

According to penalty points, the fabric is graded.

Penalty points range

Fabric grade

< 40








The 4-Point fabric inspection system is mostly used in the textile industry around the globe now. This test method describes a procedure to establish a numerical designation for grading fabrics from a visual inspection. 

It may be used for the delivery and acceptance of fabrics with requirements mutually agreed upon by the purchaser and the supplier. 

This system does not establish a quality level for a given product, but rather provides a means of defining defects according to their severity by assigning demerit point values. All types of fabrics whether grey or finished can be graded by this system.

Ten-point system

Ten points system evaluation was permitted by 1955 by Textile distributors Institutions and the national federation of textiles.

This system is categorized depending on defects based on the severity of faults.

If total penalty points are less than the length of the fabric roll in the yard, then the fabric is considered a good quality according to this system.

If total penalty points are more than the length of the fabric roll in the yard then the fabric is considered as a second quality according to this system.

If total penalty points are equal to the length of the fabric roll in the yard, then the fabric is considered a good quality according to this system.

This system is mostly used for woven finished fabric in the olden days.

This system has also width limitations.

This system is a bit complicated because points per length are different for warp and weft defects.

(That causes difficulty in practical use.)

Warp defects in inch

Weft defects in inch

Penalty points

Less than 1

Less than 1


1 - 5




5- 1/2 width of fabric



Over 1/2 width of fabric


Graniteville 78 system

This system is established in 1975 for garment-cutting components.

According to this system, major defects are that which are obvious and lead to the second quality of fabric.

According to this system, minor defects is that which are the severity of minor faults of fabric.

Defect length in inch

Penalty points









  • The system is specially established in garment cutting pieces, in which, short-length defects less than 9" will normally be removed.
  • The system tries to balance the importance of longer defects over 9" and put less weight on 1-10" defects such as slubs.
  • The system also suggests a viewing distance of 9 feet instead of the normal 3-foot viewing distance.
  • The system tends to count very minor defects from the total penalty score of fabric inspection.
  • This is mostly recommended for use, where larger garments are to be cut with fabrics of wider widths.

Dallas system

Dallas system is introduced in 1970 specially for knitted fabrics by the Dallas Manufacturers Association.

This system generally increases the cost of production as the defect is located after the garment is finished.

According to this system, if the fabric has less than 1 or 1 inch of defect length per 10 linear yards then the fabric is considered a good quality garment.

According to this system, if the fabric has more than 1 inch of defect length per 10 linear yards then the fabric is considered a second-quality garment.

I.e. -one piece 60 yards long would be allowed to have six defects.

Textile distributors institute system

This system is introduced by the National Federation of textiles in 1995.

Concerning time, this system is less come in usage due to its limitations.

  • These are the main systems used to inspect the fabric, rather than this AQL 2.5 system and HES are also used.
Questions -
  1. How many systems are there for the inspection of fabric?
  2. What is four points system?
  3. How four the points system work?
  4. What is ten points system?
  5. How does ten points system work?
  6. What is the Graniteville 78 system?
  7. How Graniteville 78 system works?
  8. What is the Dallas system?
  9. How Dallas system works?


Booth, J. E. :. (n.d.). Principles of textile testing an introduction to physical methods of testing textile fibres, yarns, and fabrics. London: National Trade Press Ltd,1961. from

Cenote, M. (2015). Google Books. In The SAGE Guide to Key Issues in Mass Media Ethics and Law (pp. 847–858). SAGE Publications, Inc.

Ferreiro López-Riobóo, J. I. (2015). Long-term (2001–2012) study of a proficiency testing scheme for textiles. Accreditation and Quality Assurance20(4), 239–245.

TEXTILE VALUE CHAIN. (2020, May 5). Textile Testing and quality control. TEXTILE VALUE CHAIN.

Writer - 

Popular posts from this blog

Any query? then tell us


Email *

Message *